Mumbai vs Vidarbha Live Score, Ranji Trophy Final Day 1: Shardul Thakur strikes back as MUM relies on lower order

Mumbai vs Vidarbha Ranji Trophy Final Live Score, MUM vs VID: Mumbai are once again dependent on their lower order after a good start provided by openers Prithvi Shaw and Bhupen Lalwani, who took the Vidarbha fast bowlers to all parts of the park. Beaten. Wankhede Stadium in the first hour. After an opening partnership of 81 runs, Mumbai suddenly lost three wickets for 11 runs, bringing together their most experienced pair of Shreyas Iyer and captain Ajinkya Rahane.

Even they could do nothing, with Iyer falling to Umesh Yadav and Rahane falling soon after the resumption of play in the second session. Shardul Thakur has counter-attacked and is getting closer to his half-century. He made a 43-run partnership with Shams Mulani and then a 22-run partnership with Tanush Kotian.

Mumbai vs Vidarbha

Earlier, Vidarbha captain Akshay Wadkar won the toss and decided to bowl first. This is their third appearance in the finals, having won on both the previous occasions and making it to the title match. Meanwhile, Mumbai is playing in this crucial match for the 48th time. Mumbai’s dominance in Ranji Trophy in this century has been questioned to some extent.

With 42 titles, Mumbai is way ahead of any other team in terms of the number of titles won in the tournament, but since 2010, they have only won the Ranji Trophy twice. Vidarbha, their rivals in this year’s final, have won it multiple times in the same period.

Mumbai, led by former India vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, remain favorites to win the title this year, while Vidarbha have made it clear that they are second to none. In Mumbai, coming second best is never an option and anything less than a title will satisfy the Mumbai cricket connoisseurs sitting in the Garware Pavilion at the Wankhede Stadium. Rahane, who won India’s biggest overseas series win in Australia three winters ago, has seen a steep decline in his international career and is not even at the national level at the moment.

SEE ALSO : Neil Wagner has retired from international cricket

Rahane has had a disappointing performance with the bat – specialist fast bowler Mohit Awasthi (192) has scored more runs than Rahane (134), who has a disappointing average of 13.4 throughout the tournament. However, Rahane’s leadership skills have proved to be second to none as the old warrior made great use of his resources to take the team to its 48th summit clash. Even though his personal form did not favor him, Rahane and his men overcame all challenges on their way to the final this year.

The focus will be on middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer, who lost his BCCI annual contract for prioritizing the IPL over domestic cricket. A century in the Ranji Trophy final will definitely give him a lot of confidence.

Mumbai’s batsmen have not scored as many runs as their opponents to make the final this season, but their lower-middle order has stood up to the occasion and performed well in difficult conditions. Players like wicketkeeper-batsman Hardik Tamore (252 runs), who has batted from the top down the order, making significant contributions in the last two knockout matches, along with the talents of Tanush Kotian (481), Shams Mulani (290) and Tushar Is.

Deshpande (168) has performed well whenever the chips have been down. Dubey and Thakur have scored crucial centuries in the knock-out games. With India Under-19 star Mushir Khan proving himself to be the gel that keeps the batting line-up together, Mumbai have posed a strong challenge for the Vidarbha side.


Mumbai face two-time champions Vidarbha, who brought their ‘A’ game forward at crucial junctures. Umesh Yadav, who has taken over 150 Test wickets, can still ask questions of Mumbai’s weak top order with the new ball. Vidarbha has managed to perform consistently in all departments to earn their place in the pinnacle of India’s premier domestic tournaments.

Karun Nair (616 runs at an average of 41.06) was led by Dhruv Shorey (549 runs at an average of 36.6), Akshay Wadkar (530 runs at an average of 37.85), Atharva Tayde (529 runs at an average of 44.08) and Yash Rathod (57 runs at an average of 44.08). Has performed brilliantly. Vidarbha’s batting will shine this season. If Aditya Sarwate (40 wickets) and Aditya Thackeray (33) have been at the forefront of Vidarbha’s bowling attack, India pacer Yadav has also found his rhythm to deliver crucial strikes for his team.

Leave a Comment