Yamlapalli Maha Urja is the only Indian to be seeded in ITF women’s tennis tournament


Yamlapalli Maha Urja is the only Indian to be seeded in ITF women’s tennis tournament

Sahaja Yamlapalli is the lone Indian to be seeded in the Maha Urja $25,000 ITF women’s tennis tournament to be played on the clay courts of the MSLTA Academy in Ramanagara from Tuesday.

Yamlapalli Maha Urja

Fifth seed Sahaja will open against Vaidehi Chaudhary. She found herself in the third quarter with fourth seed Diana Marcinkevica.

The country’s No. 1 player Ankita Raina is busy in the Petroleum Tennis Tournament in Delhi and hence the Indian challenge will be less.

SEE ALSO : Rafael nadal novak djokovic – Grand Slam 2024 winners prediction ft.

However, national champion Srivalli Bhamidipathy may push hard as she will open against qualifier Anastasia Zolotareva. Zeel Desai opens against Japan’s Akiko Ome.

Akanksha Niture saved six match points in the second and final qualifying round to defeat Joel Nicolay 14-12 in a super tie-break, and was rewarded with a first-round match against top seed Irina Maria Bara of Romania.

Anjali Rathi, Vaishnavi Adkar, Humera Brahmus and Soha Sadiq were the other Indians to qualify for the main draw.

Wild cards were given to Saujanya Bavisetti, Maithili Mothe, Sonal Patil and Sejal Bhutada.

It will be interesting to see how well the Indian players face the challenge and take on the strong foreign players.

Rankings: 1. Irina Maria Bara (Ru), 2. Dalila Jakupovic (Slo), 3. Justyna Mikulskaite (Ltu), 4. Diana Marcinkevica (Lat), 5. Sahaja Yamalapalli, 6. Fanny Ostlund (Swe), 7. Miryana Tona (Ita), 8. Thasaporn Naklo (Tha).

-Kamesh Srinivasan

PSPB Inter-Unit Tournament: Ramanathan, Bhambri, Raina among prominent Indian players

Ramkumar Ramanathan, Yuki Bhambri, Ankita Raina, Prarthana Thombare and Saketh Myneni will be some of the prominent players from the country competing in the 42nd PSPB Inter-Unit Tennis Tournament to be played at the DLTA Complex from Tuesday.

Some of the other top players seen in action will be Divij Sharan, Vishnu Vardhan, Ritwik Bollipalli, Karan Singh, Rhea Bhatia and Chirag Duhan.

Most of the players are missing some of the big international tournaments around the world and in the country to honor their commitment to their employers.

Of course, top players like Rohan Bopanna and Sumit Nagal were unable to skip the ATP Masters series events in Indian Wells and Miami to be a part of the petroleum event, which has somehow been held at the wrong time this season.

The competition will begin with team events followed by individual events for men, women and veterans.
Indian Oil (IOC) and Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) have assembled excellent teams.

Men’s and women’s World No. 2, Spanish stand-up paddlers Fernando Perez and Esperanza Barreras will be the main attractions among the strong line-up that will compete for top honors at the upcoming India Paddle Festival, India’s first international stand-up event. Paddling event.

India’s challenge will be led by the formidable Shekhar Pachai along with defending national champions, Manikandan D and Akash J Shetty.

The India Paddle Festival is scheduled to take place from March 8 to 10 at Sasihitalu Beach, Mangalore, Karnataka and will be held ahead of the launch of the 2024 APP World Tour.

Pachai, who was ranked first in India in 2018 and 18th in the SUP World Rankings (ISA), will be responsible for leading the Indian contingent as it will compete in the men’s open category. He is also a 25-time National Stand-Up Paddling Champion. The focus will also be on the country’s top 2 SUP athlete Manikandan D in the men’s open category.

The Association of Paddlesurf Professionals World Tour (APP) last month announced its entry into India with the country’s first international stand-up paddling championship.

Sneha, Hitashi Hero to fight again in WPGT 5th stage

Sneha Singh, who has won two of the first four stages of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour, will renew her battle with Hitashi Bakshi in the fifth stage of the tournament starting here on Tuesday as she searches for her third win of the season. Are in.

The event will be played at the Golden Greens Golf Club as the tour comes to North India for the first time this season.

Sneha Hero Order of Merit only Rs. Are ahead of. 500 more than Hitashi, which has won once and been runner-up three times.

In the preliminary round, Sneha and Hitashi finished second, while amateur Nishna Patel emerged winner.

This week, although Nishna is not in the fray, there are four other amateurs, namely Prarthana Khanna, Seerat Kang, Lavanya Jadon and Saanvi Somu, who made the cut at the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific last month.


Apart from Sneha and Hitashi, the other major contenders are Amandeep Dral, Ridhima Dilawari, Gaurika Bishnoi, Neha Tripathi and Sahar Atwal. All of them are past winners of the tour.

Two other players to watch out for will be Aastha Madan and the experienced Sania Sharma.

A total of 42 players, including four amateurs, are in the fray for the Rs. With a purse of Rs 19 lakh, the event this week was played over four rounds and 72 holes, with the top 24 players taking home the prize money.

Leave a Comment