10 captains who lost the most tosses in a season of IPL

MAY 6, 2024 

By Pallavi Pawar

Sanju Samson 13 -

GOEL Sanju Samson holds the record for losing the most tosses in an IPL season, having lost 13 tosses in 17 matches in the 2022 season when Rajasthan Royals reached the final.

Credit : BCCI

MS Dhoni - 12

MS Dhoni lost 12 tosses in 17 seasons when he led Chennai Super Kings in the 2012 IPL, when the Men in Yellow reached the final.                                                          Credit : BCCI                                                      

Virat Kohli- 11

Virat Kohli lost 11 tosses in his first season leading Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2013, when the Bengaluru-based team failed to reach playoffs.                                                                                                                 Credit: BCCI

MS Dhoni- 11

MS Dhoni lost 11 tosses while leading Chennai Super Kings in the 2008 season of IPL as he led the team to the final of the inaugural edition in which they lost to RajasthanRoyals.                                                                                                                Credit:BCCL

Ruturaj Gaikwad - 10*

Ruturaj Gaikwad, leading Chennai Super Kings for the first time, has lost 10 tosses in just 11 matches in the202IPL.                                                                                                      Credit:BCCI

KL Rahul - 10

KL Rahul lost 10 tosses in the 2020 IPL season while leading Punjab Kings in only 14 matches as they failed to reach the playoffs.                                                      Credit: BCCI

Virat Kohli- 10

Virat Kohli lost 10 tosses in the 2019 IPL season, which saw Royal Challengers Bangalore have a year to forget as they finished last in the table.                                                                                                                   Credit: AP 

Kane Williamson - 10

Kane Williamson lost 10 tosses in 17 matches in the 2018 IPL season, in which Sunrisers Hyderabad reached the final and lost to Chennai Super Kings.                                                                                                   Credit: BCCL

Glenn Maxwell - 10

Glenn Maxwell captained Kings XI Punjab in the 2017 IPL season, in which he lost 10 tosses in 14 matches as the Punjab team missed the playoffs by a narrow margin and finished 5th in the table. Vivo Vivo                                                                                           Credit: BCCL

Steve Smith - 10

After MS Dhoni's departure, Steve Smith captained Rising Pune Super Giant in IPL 2017 and led them to the final where they lost to Chennai Super Kings. Smith lost 10 tosses in 16matches.                                                                                                      Credit:BCCI

Virat Kohli- 10

Virat Kohli led RCB to the 2016 IPL final for the third time, but lost 10 out of 16 tosses in a season and lost the final to Sunrisers Hyderabad.                                                                                                          Credit:BCCI

George Bailey - 10

Punjab Kings' only IPL final was under the captaincy of George Bailey in 2014 when they lost to KKR. Bailey lost 10 out of 17 tosses in the season.                                                                                                          Credit:BCCI

MS Dhoni - 10

Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings reached their fourth consecutive final in 2013 when they lost to Mumbai Indians. Dhoni lost 10 out of 16 tosses in that season.                                                    Credit: BCCI

Mahela Jayawardene - 10

Mahela Jayawardene was named captain of Delhi Daredevils for the 2013 IPL, replacing Virender Sehwag. Jayawardene lost 10 out of 16 tosses that season and the team finished last in the table with only three wins.                                                                                                          Credit: BCCI

Gautam Gambhir - 10

Gautam Gambhir lost 10 tosses in the IPL season in which he led Kolkata Knight Riders to their first IPL title.                                                                                                          Credit: BCCI

Sachin Tendulkar - 10

In the 2011 IPL, Sachin Tendulkar lost 10 out of 16 tosses as Mumbai Indians lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore in the second qualifier.                                                                                                                                                           Credit: BCCI

Thanks for reading !

अल्जारी जोसेफ वेस्ट इंडीज के एक क्रिकेटर हैं |